Book of Questions Friday: To Snoop or Not to Snoop

Once she has the magnifying glass in her hands its pretty much a done deal...her next step is the smell test!

Friday’s Question from the Book of Questions: Love & Sex #4, So yeah I’m skipping question 3 because y’all don’t need to be in my panties like that. Feel free to pick up the book and answer it amongst your homies. Anywho question 4 asks, If your lover kept a private journal that was easily accessible, under what circumstances might you read it without permission? For example, what if your relationship were on the rocks and you were confused about your partner’s feelings?

Peeps in the know, know for damn sure that I don’t live in a land of sneaky bishes. Snooping requires entirely too much energy that I’d rather spend sleeping, y’all know my insomnia troubles. I’m being dead serious. The only people with reserved snooping energy are batshyt crazy chicks. They and they alone fumble through the many levels of insanity coming up with clever potential password combinations of your birthday, first puppy’s name or year of graduation. That level of sleuthing without payment ain’t what it’s made for. I say all of that to simply say, regardless of the hidden in plain sight nature of my boo-thangs journal I’m not touching it. It’s a matter of respect and maturity. If I want to know something I’m going to ask the question.

Under no circumstances do I feel it’s acceptable to read your significant other’s private thoughts. Besides journals being hella personal they’re not always in proper context. At least mine isn’t. Reading my journal pushes you into the ferris wheels of my mind. My words run on and on with no rhyme or reason, basically a menagerie of consciousness. That works for me but it may come across very rant-esque and I’m sure my significant other might not want to hear nor appreciate me calling him a colossal bastid. And while I know my comment has everything to do with his dirty arse socks on my bathroom floor he might take that as a slap in his mama’s face. Y’all know men and their mothers. Now I have to defend my unabridged feelings taken out of context. Who has time to pacify an emoting man? I know I don’t. Plus emoting men much like disgruntle postal workers shoot shyt, and I’m not about that life.

Furthermore why am I snooping? Do I think my boo-thang lavished another chick with his O-face? If that’s the case I don’t need to crack open a journal, I’ll bust the windows out his car. I kid I kid I’m so drama free. Carving my name into his leather seats screams 302 me expeditiously. And we all know I don’t play those kooky chick games. There’s no reason to snoop for what will eventually land in your lap, mostly because men aren’t good liars. As a firm believer in karma, I recognize that what gets done in the dark always come to light.

Even if I felt my relationship take the turn for the worse I’d resist the temptation. Admittedly curiosity exists despite my natural inclination not to snoop. However, maturity must speak, even if I feel the growing divide. Riding out for life with a person I just ought be able to ask him hard questions. If he’s unable to answer them satisfactorily then maybe a reevaluation of our partnership is oh so necessary.

This is just where I stand. What says you, , If your lover kept a private journal that was easily accessible, under what circumstances might you read it without permission? For example, what if your relationship were on the rocks and you were confused about your partner’s feelings?

As always to share is to care and hashish.

Comments
2 Responses to “Book of Questions Friday: To Snoop or Not to Snoop”
  1. Holli says:

    Nope! Wouldn’t do it. If I have to go that far we have deeper problems…and I can’t imagine anyone reading my journal. I’d feel so violated!

    • Faith M. says:

      Hola Holli,

      I agree that if you get the urge to go through your significant other’s personal journal it means there are some serious red flags in the relationship. Sometimes I think people are unable to have clear adult communication. As a result they resort to snooping. I know being a grown-up sometimes bites but if you’re partaking in grown folk activities you need to wear the shoes of an adult.

Leave a Reply

