Blog Challenge Post 6: iPod Shuffle

It's so crazy I remember when I had a walkman...you know the ones that actually played cassette tapes.

When given the opportunity I enjoy skimming the music in people’s iPods. Reviewing the songs reveals things about people that might go unsaid or unknown. Not to mention I might run across gems. I especially like this when I first start dating someone. He earns extra kool kid points if he dabbles in ignance, Drop and Give Me Fifty style. If he has any song by Minnie Riperton I might propose to him on sight.

Oh you have Come into My Garden and it has over 100 plays, please wife me like now. Oh that’s just me. Whatever I go hard in the paint for Minnie. Have you heard her falsetto? One of Minnie’s high notes slays a thousand generations of heauxs like Mariah Carey. Personally I prefer pre-tiddy Mariah if I had to chose.

Anywho the challenge asked that I expose the first ten songs that play when I put my iPod on shuffle.  Because I enjoy sharing with y’all I’m gonna give you the first 35 songs.  Here’s the random playlist…I rather enjoyed this mix at work:

  1. Goblin – Tyler the Creator
  2. Stop the World – Neyo
  3. Opera- Floetry
  4. If You Don’t Know Me by Now – Seal
  5. Heart of a Lion – Kid Cudi
  6. Moving Mountains – Usher
  7. Mr. Boombastic – Shaggy
  8. Never as Good as the First Time – Sade
  9. Never Too Much – Luther Vandross
  10. Move – Damian “Jr Gong” Marley
  11. Fragile – Chrisette Michelle
  12. Love Soul Bounce – Jill Scott
  13. A Fool in Love – Ike & Tina Turner
  14. Unchained Melody – The Righteous Brothers
  15. Hating on You – Amerie
  16. The Corner – Common
  17. Lie to Me – Neyo
  18. He Won’t Go – Adele
  19. Ring My Bell – Anita Ward
  20. Gotta Go Gotta Leave – Vivian Green
  21. Ready for Love – India Arie
  22. Voodoo Child – Jimi Hendrix
  23. My Sacrifice – Creed
  24. Oh Sheila – Ready for the World
  25. Ex-Factor – Lauryn Hill
  26. Monster – Kanye West
  27. Nookie – Limp Bizkit
  28. Like a Star – Corrine Bailey Rae
  29. Loving You – Minnie Riperton
  30. 24’s – TI
  31. Scar Tissue – Red Hot Chili Peppers
  32. Come Baby Come – K7
  33. I’d Rather Go Blind – Etta James
  34. Push It – Salt –n-Pepa
  35. Dutty Wine – Tony Matterhorn

Clearly I have an affinity for neo soul type music as evidence by the number of those types of songs showing up randomly on my shuffle.  What does that say about me…yo no se especially since my most played song list is Ignant Arse Music the land where r&b does not reside.  What says you, share the first 5-10 songs when you put your iPod or MP3 type device on shuffle.  Remember sharing is caring and hashish!

Stay tuned for Fridays Blog Challenge Post where I’ll discuss something I learned…

Comments
7 Responses to “Blog Challenge Post 6: iPod Shuffle”
  1. Yo, that’s a nice list of songs you got there. I mean, you don’t have any Chap in there, but uhm…yeah 🙂

    ~Chappy
    http://www.insaneasylumblog.com

    • Faith M. says:

      Chapster,

      You underestimate me, how you know I haven’t stolen your music from an illegal download site…yeah I’m bout that life homie. I kid send away I always give honest opinions…

  2. I like that you have Creed in there too. You should check out this group out of Santa Ana called “311”. Matter of fact, I’m gonna send you some 311 in your FB inbox. You’ll love ’em.

    ~Chappy
    http://www.insaneasylumblog.com

    • Faith M. says:

      Chappy,

      311 of the All Mixed Up variety with their ska punk alternative vibe. I know them…not well but I do know the group. When I was in my Smells Like Teen Spirit phase they were a happy alternative so to speak…but send the music I love undercover greatness!

  3. *Yoles* says:

    i’m mad i missed this post.. i love music sharing!!

    Religious Love-R. Kelly— don’t judge me that man makes good music!!
    Stop Playin-Musiq—
    Best of Me-Jazmine Sullivan
    I Stil Do- The Cranberries
    Soulmate-Natasha Bedingfield
    Ain’t No Love Syleena Johnson
    Machine Gun Funk-Biggie
    Criminal-Fiona Appe
    Te Amare-Della Manley
    Destiny-Zero 7

    • Faith M. says:

      Hola Yoles,

      I am in lurve with you list!!! And there are no judgements from me on the Arruh because I too have his music on my list of Segsi Time songs because there is no segsi time without the Arruh.

      Side note I was not aware of this Della Manley before this list. I feel my eyes have been open to a whole new world.

      • *Yoles* says:

        Hey Faith

        omg i saw della manley perform live at couples ocho rios in jamaica and her singing just soothed my soul… my then husband bought the cd right off of her… i love della and te amare is beautiful in spanish and english i am so happy that i could introduce you to someone that you haven’t heard of before…

        PS the Arruh and I have a love/hate relationship
        #thatisall

Leave a Reply

