Yoga Is Practical – Getting Into My Dancer’s Pose and Embracing Radical Honesty

Doesn't she look graceful...this pose is all about the combination of balance and determination. I love it! Plus I think it makes an amazing silhouette.

As most of you already know yoga has become a large part of my outside of work life. For hashishes and giggles I’m thinking about adding an additional day to my regime. This past week my instructor introduced the dancer’s pose or natarajasana, what a mouthful. <—- That’s what she said, sorry I couldn’t resist! Dancer’s pose is a balancing asana, and if I haven’t mentioned it before balancing poses are some of my favorites. It’s a given that the natarajasana increases your stability. It also strengthens both your spine and legs. Above anything else I think balancing asanas have powered up my resolve. An abundance of determination can’t possibly be a bad thing.

Granted I could be overdosing on eastern philosophy but yoga has thrust forward my fortitude of mind. As such I’ve decided to come out of the closet, not like that. One vajayjay is just enough for my party. In an effort to be in tune with the changes yoga is pushing to the surface, I’m adopting an attitude of radical honesty. Radical honesty is a concept introduced by Dr. Brad Blanton. His philosophy stresses that lying is the primary reason of modern human stress and that folk will become happier by being more honest. Now I’m not sure about happiness springing eternal from sharing all the thoughts that pop to my mind at any given moment but I will say that being as authentic as possible with people is truly my goal. Of course this will have to be within reason because I can think of a few situations where radical honesty might get me bish slapped…maybe not bish slapped but definitely a cruel and unusual stank eye.

Never turn your face up to a gift from a child. Babies need encouragement.

This should really go without saying but sometimes a reminder is oh so necessary. Now I will share something because sharing is caring. I really love children despite calling them human Petri dishes. These two things are mutually exclusive. Children are both adorable and dirty. It’s easier for me to say that because I don’t have ones of my own.

To the point, short of genius most children don’t start as Picasso. Coloring outside of the lines is part of their journey to greatness; of this I’m 63.8% sure. When my Godson came to me beaming with a picture of God knows what that he’d spent all day crafting just for me, I smiled and told him I loved it. He did give me the bish are you crazy face as I struggled to comprehend his creation. But otherwise all was gravy. Besides, the aftermath of dealing with his mother for trampling his wee person feelings, wasn’t up there on my list of wants to do. Parents are quite the guard dogs. In this instance sparring my Godson’s feelings and avoiding an unpleasant situation with the bestie produced a double win.

In a room full of Tyler Perry stans it makes no sense to tell them that Madea is coonery and buffoonery to the highest level.

The bottom line here, know your audience. This past Friday I was getting a pedicure. While waiting a group of women were discussing the newest minstrel out of the pocketbook pocket of one Mr. Tyler Perry. Let me go on record first saying that I’m not a hater and applaud Mr. Perry’s success. With that said iCan’t with his foolishness. While Tyler rakes in tons of money running around as a 6ft gun-toting Grandmother, who’s Grannie actually packs heat, I turn my nose up in utter siddity disgust. I owns my siddity and I wears it well, it feels like velvet!

Knowing my distaste of most things Perry related and hearing their clear admiration I didn’t feel the need to throw shade on their parade. If they like modern day shucking and jiving, have at it. Besides the nail salon is a place of harmony no sense in throwing blows and body blocks trying to kick the actual factual. And since these women subscribe to the Tyler Perry school of thought I might have ended up on the wrong side of someone’s switchblade. Violence isn’t good for my complexion. I bruise easily. Madea stans don’t fight fair and I could see someone throwing a wig and taking a cheap shot.

Side note I knew quiet as it’s kept was the right philosophy when the chick next to me said that LisaRaye was her style icon *___* It was a white lie of omission. I never confirmed or denied my like for Tyler Perry.

Employing radical honesty when subpar sexy time strikes may result in adult male hurt feelings.

Male hurt feelings add a layer of cake to the party that no one really likes. I’d go out on a limb and say that an emoting man is far worse than a woman. Why? Glad you asked because no one likes a biotch men aren’t socialized to deal well with hurt feelings. Anger is their wingman but he doesn’t solve problems. Anger festers into resentment if not handled properly. As such brutally telling him that his invasion of Vagistan was a mission in futility will probably not lead to breakfast in the morning. I could be wrong. My words of advice proceed with caution and abort at signs of furrowed brows.

Despite the cavemen demeanor, men are sensitive creatures. Nothing crushes the male ego like telling him his humpty dance is off beat. A lot of men hang their hats on the neighbors knowing their name. Don’t destroy his hat post build it up. Men require stroking. During normal fully clothed conversation sprinkle in things he can do better and always end with something he’s knocked out of the park. I’m not advocating lying because that will lead to continued less then stellar grown-up time, frustration and potential straying. What I am suggesting is easing into the conversation with a little tact. Tact and Radical Honesty don’t hold hands in the friend park. Radical Honesty would have you immediately following said act of horror displaying the try again face…this could lead to female hurt feelings and that’s a whole other ball game entirely.

If I followed Blanton’s philosophy completely I might get uninvited to a lot of dinners. I like dinner invites so I’m going to proceed with caution into the world of Radical Honesty. I agree that people would be on a lot better footing if lies were out of the equation but sometimes the adage is true, a little white lie never hurt anyone. What says you, are there instances when telling a lie is acceptable, if so why? Do you think that people would be happier if we told the truth all the time? Are lies hindering us from really knowing one another? What does it mean to you to be authentic?

Comments
4 Responses to “Yoga Is Practical – Getting Into My Dancer’s Pose and Embracing Radical Honesty”
  1. *OnlyYolie* says:

    What says you, are there instances when telling a lie is acceptable, if so why? Do you think that people would be happier if we told the truth all the time? Are lies hindering us from really knowing one another? What does it mean to you to be authentic?

    i for one am a total advocate for truth telling, that being said there are a million ways to tell the truth… and everything can be said with some concern for the feelings of the others involved. telling the truth all the time is not a crime, just be mindful of what is said, how its said and how much is said. being honest doesn’t mean spilling every single detail that may hurt someone. i do think lies hinder us from knowing one another, people hide behind the representative so often, people are so busy trying to be what other people will like that they do not give people a chance to really get to know the real person.

    authenticity is being true to yourself and your beliefs and ideals… making sure to represent your true self.

    PS i’ve been playing with HTML so please forgive me if this came out all messed up…

    • Faith M. says:

      Hola Yoles,

      New avi = cutabulous!

      I feel you. There is definitely a right and wrong way to say something. Radical honesty pushes that a step further and says that sugar coating or tactfully disclosing information to another person is another form of lying. We should just say exactly what’s on our minds. I don’t know how much I agree with that but I do agree with you that honesty is definitely the best policy. I’d much rather know someone’s true intentions as opposed to dealing with the representative.

      Side note no issues with HTML…continue to play away!

  2. the gospel cat has the reasons why he sings. these are the reasons why iChoke:

    “…a picture of God knows what…”

    “violence isn’t good for my complexion.”

    lisa raye as a style icon

    “invasion of Vagistan”

    & this whole paragraph:
    Despite the cavemen demeanor, men are sensitive creatures. Nothing crushes the male ego like telling him his humpty dance is off beat. A lot of men hang their hats on the neighbors knowing their name. Don’t destroy his hat post build it up. Men require stroking. During normal fully clothed conversation sprinkle in things he can do better and always end with something he’s knocked out of the park. I’m not advocating lying because that will lead to continued less then stellar grown-up time, frustration and potential straying. What I am suggesting is easing into the conversation with a little tact. Tact and Radical Honesty don’t hold hands in the friend park. Radical Honesty would have you immediately following said act of horror displaying the try again face…this could lead to female hurt feelings and that’s a whole other ball game entirely.

    i see you tryna get ya name in the running for next years comedy writing in the Blog Awards for Coloreds.

    • Faith M. says:

      LOL Hey Aweez,

      Seriously doe the Blog Awards for Coloreds….LOL. I haven’t been called a person of color since college it’s not sitting well in my stomach ha ha! Next time I will post a disclaimer to make sure you don’t have any beverage in your mouth because I’m broke and cannot afford any computer repairs.

Leave a Reply

